Search for COVID-19 and Reopening Information Here
Are hotels open? Can I still use AirBnB? What safety precautions must they take?
TRAVEL ADVISORY: New Jersey strongly discourages all non-essential interstate travel at this time. Travelers and residents returning from any U.S. state or territory beyond the immediate region (New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware) should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging for 10 days if they are not able to get tested or 7 days if they test negative. For more information, visit covid19.nj.gov/travel.
Hotels, AirBnB, and other short-term rentals are allowed to open. However, be sure to check with your destination to see if there are any local restrictions.
The State has issued Executive and Administrative Orders which allows municipalities and counties to impose restrictions on hotels, motels, guest houses, and online marketplaces for arranging and offering lodging.
To save lives and stop the spread of COVID-19, wear a mask, wash your hands, practice social distancing, and stay home if you are sick.
Under Executive Order No. 192, all employees, customers, and visitors must wear a face covering while on the premises, except when an individual is under two years of age or where it is impractical like when eating, drinking, or receiving a service that cannot be completed while wearing a mask.
Employees, customers, and visitors who refuse to wear a face covering may be declined entry, except when doing so would violate State or federal law and provided the employer complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination where applicable.
Employers may permit employees to remove their face covering when they are at their workstation at least six feet from others or alone in a walled space such as an office. Employers must provide face coverings to their employees.
For more details and exemptions, refer to page 4 of Executive Order No. 192.
Hotel Sanitization Guidance
Hotels and motels must comply with the safety protocols outlined in Department of Health Executive Directive No. 20-024, which includes:
- Maintaining continuous 24-hour, seven-day-a-week coverage of a Front Desk by at least one employee,
- Training a Front Desk employee to respond to a guests' inquiry related to health and safety, including but not limited to, the location of hospitals in the vicinity of the hotel, emergency telephone numbers, and options for seeking treatment or testing for virus diseases during a public health crisis
- Ensuring every guest room is cleaned and sanitized and provided with an adequate supply of clean towels, sheets, and pillowcases prior to occupancy by a new guest
- Ensuring every occupied guest room is cleaned and sanitized every day, and that the room is provided with an adequate supply of clean towels, sheets, and pillowcases and that the towels, sheets, and pillowcases are changed no less frequently than once every day
- Ensuring all public spaces are cleaned and sanitized at least once every day
- Ensuring all frequently touched surfaces by guests are cleaned and sanitized regularly throughout each day
- Providing employees with sanitization products
For a full list of safety requirements, businesses should refer to Executive Directive No. 20-024.
Note: This summary is not a replacement for fully complying with the terms of DOH Executive Directive No. 20-024, and businesses should read the full guidance carefully to ensure full compliance.
Requirements to Protect Employees and Others
Employers must comply with the following requirements:
- Require workers and customers to maintain at least six feet of distance from one another, to the maximum extent possible;
- Provide approved sanitization materials for employees and visitors at no cost to those individuals;
- Ensure that employees practice hand hygiene and provide employees with sufficient break time for that purpose;
- Routinely clean and disinfect all high-touch areas in accordance with DOH and CDC guidelines;
- Prior to each shift, conduct daily health checks, such as temperature screenings, visual symptom checking, self-assessment checklists, and/or health questionnaires, consistent with CDC guidance;
- Do not allow sick employees to enter workplace and follow requirements of applicable leave laws;
- Promptly notify employees of any known exposure to COVID-19 at the worksite; and
- Clean and disinfect the worksite in accordance with CDC guidelines when an employee at the site has been diagnosed with COVID-19 illness.
Detailed requirements and exemptions for certain employers can be found in the full text of Executive Order No. 192.