Search for COVID-19 and Reopening Information Here
Which states are on the travel advisory list? Are there travel restrictions to or from New Jersey?
New Jersey welcomes travel to and from our state.
However, to save lives and prevent the spread of COVID-19, the State has issued an incoming travel advisory that all individuals entering New Jersey from states with a significant spread of COVID-19 should quarantine for 14-days after leaving that state.
Under the 14-day quarantine travel advisory announced by the Governors of New Jersey, New York and Connecticut, individuals traveling to or returning to New Jersey from states with increasing rates of COVID-19 are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days. This includes travel by train, bus, car, plane and any other method of transportation.
The 14-day quarantine travel advisory applies to travel from certain "impacted states" identified as those that 1) have an average daily number of new cases higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day period or 2) have a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day period. The advisory applies to travel from states that meet either of these levels.
Due to the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware, a 14-day quarantine is not reasonable in all instances. Non-essential travel to and from these states, however, is highly discouraged at this time.
As of Tuesday, November 24, 47 states and U.S. jurisdictions are on the list of "impacted states":
- Alabama (added 6/24/20)
- Alaska (re-added 9/1/20)
- Arizona (re-added 10/20/20)
- Arkansas (added 6/24/20)
- California (re-added 10/27/20)
- Colorado (added 9/29/20)
- Florida (added 6/24/20)
- Georgia (added 6/30/20)
- Guam (added 8/25/20)
- Idaho (added 6/30/20)
- Illinois (added 7/28/20)
- Indiana (added 7/21/20)
- Iowa (added 6/30/20)
- Kansas (added 7/7/20)
- Kentucky (added 7/28/20)
- Louisiana (added 6/30/20)
- Maine (added 11/10/20)
- Maryland (re-added 10/20/20)
- Massachusetts (added 10/27/20)
- Michigan (added 10/13/20)
- Minnesota (re-added 9/22/20)
- Mississippi (added 6/30/20)
- Missouri (added 7/21/20)
- Montana (re-added 9/1/20)
- Nebraska (added 7/21/20)
- Nevada (re-added 9/22/20)
- New Hampshire (added 11/10/20)
- New Mexico (re-added 10/6/20)
- North Carolina (added 6/24/20)
- North Dakota (added 7/21/20)
- Ohio (re-added 10/13/20)
- Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)
- Oregon (added 11/4/20)
- Puerto Rico (re-added 9/15/20)
- Rhode Island (re-added 9/22/20)
- South Carolina (added 6/24/20)
- South Dakota (added 8/11/20)
- Tennessee (added 6/30/20)
- Texas (added 6/24/20)
- Utah (added 6/24/20)
- Vermont (added 11/17/20)
- Virgin Islands (re-added 11/24/20)
- Virginia (re-added 10/13/20)
- Washington (re-added 11/4/20)
- West Virginia (added 9/8/20)
- Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)
- Wyoming (added 9/22/20)
Note: Hawaii was removed 9/15/20. The District of Columbia was removed on 8/4/20.
This list will be updated regularly.
The self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected.
We ask that you complete a voluntary online survey to provide information about where you are traveling from and your destination if you have traveled to, or are returning from, one of the states that has been designated above.
If you choose to provide this information, it will be shared with local New Jersey Public Health authorities and other third parties when required by law. Local health departments will contact you to remind you to self-quarantine and offer assistance including information about testing locations.
Access the survey by visiting covid19.nj.gov/njtravel or texting "NJTRAVEL" to 898211.
Please note that this advisory does not apply to individuals:
- Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
- Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
- Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
- Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Consult with your employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance that may apply to you.
Travelers and residents returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, a hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should only leave the place of self-quarantine to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items. As one example, no one who has traveled to or from a state on the COVID-19 hotspot list should be participating in or attending an in-person graduation ceremony.
For answers to commonly asked questions, refer to the Department of Health's Frequently Asked Questions about the self-quarantine for travelers.
Individuals who are traveling to New Jersey from impacted states for business are exempted from the application of the travel advisory. This, for example, would include truckers driving from an impacted state to New Jersey, and any state, local and federal officials and employees traveling in their official capacities on government business.
Individuals traveling for business should still consider postponing travel to the extent possible. Individuals are encouraged to self-monitor for symptoms upon return from any travel to an impacted state, and employers should consider screening employees for symptoms before permitting them to return to work. Employees and employers should follow current CDC guidance regarding travel, available here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/travel-in-the-us.html
Critical Infrastructure Workers
Exceptions to the travel advisory are also permitted for individuals traveling to New Jersey from designated states who work in critical infrastructure, as defined by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency. This would include, for example, health care workers and state and local law enforcement. The comprehensive list of critical infrastructure industries is available here: https://www.cisa.gov/identifying-critical-infrastructure-during-covid-19.
Critical Infrastructure workers who have had an exposure but remain asymptomatic should adhere to the screening, social distancing, and mitigation practices prior to and during their work shift, as outlined by the CDC.
Consult with your employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance that may apply to you (e.g. guidance for health care professionals: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/guidance-risk-assesment-hcp.html ). Please consult the DOH website and resources for additional details and information regarding isolation procedures for when a person under quarantine is diagnosed with COVID-19 or develops symptoms.
Seasonal Migrant Farm Workers
Migrant workers can continue to work with precautions. Critical infrastructure workers and employers should follow guidance from CDC, as well as NJ Department of Health, regarding strategies to limit disease spread.
Testing is available to everyone in New Jersey and is strongly encouraged for those who travelled to areas heavily impacted by COVID-19. To find a testing site near you, visit covid19.nj.gov/testing
If you are from an impacted state and get a diagnostic/virus test, you should still self-quarantine for 14 days. If you test negative, you are still advised to self-quarantine for 14 days because you remain in the incubation period. A diagnostic test is a point-in-time indicator from the date of when you were last exposed - in this case, being in a state with significant community spread of COVID-19.
If you are positive, you should self-isolate for at least 10 days AND until one full day (or 24 hours) has passed since you had a fever without the use of fever-reducing medications AND other symptoms are significantly improved. You should only leave self-isolation to receive medical care and to obtain food or other essential items.
Additional Travel Guidance
Travel increases your chance of getting and spreading COVID-19.
You may have been exposed to COVID-19 on your travels (domestic and/or international). You may feel well and not have any symptoms, but you can be contagious without symptoms and spread the virus to others. You and your travel companions (including children) pose a risk to your family, friends, and community for 14 days after you were exposed to the virus. Regardless of where you traveled or what you did during your trip, take actions to protect others from getting sick.
Some types of travel and activities can put you at higher risk for exposure to COVID-19. If you participated in higher-risk activities or think that you may have been exposed before or during your trip, take extra precautions to protect others for 14 days after you arrive. High-risk activities include going to a large gathering (i.e., wedding, funeral, party), attending a mass gathering like a sporting event, concert, or parade, being in crowd, or traveling on a cruise ship or river boat.
If you are traveling internationally, check the CDC's COVID-19 travel recommendations by destination. Many countries are still categorized as a Level-3 high COVID-19 risk, and the CDC recommends avoiding all nonessential travel to these countries.
Take extra precautions to protect others for 14 days after you arrive to New Jersey:
- Stay home as much as possible.
- Avoid being around people.
- Social distance. Stay at least 6 feet (2 arms' length) from other people who are not from your household. It is important to do this everywhere, both indoors and outdoors.
- Wear a cloth or disposable mask to keep your nose and mouth covered when you are outside your home/where you are staying.
- Wash hands often and use hand sanitizer.
- Consider getting tested for COVID-19.
Destinations may have travel restrictions or requirements, such as mandated quarantines upon arrival.
Consult the CDC's guide for additional advice.
Learn more about what to do if you are sick after travel.