Search for COVID-19 and Reopening Information Here
Are New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission agencies open? What new protocols or practices are in place?
Motor Vehicle Commission agencies are open to the public six days a week, Mondays through Saturdays.
NOTE: For the safety of residents 65 and older, special senior hours have been set aside every Tuesday and Thursday from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. for new and used car registrations.
To reduce wait times and minimize in-person interactions, many transactions can now be conducted online. Check the NJ MVC online services page to see if you can "Skip the Trip" to the agency. Transactions that can be done online will not be available in person at this time.
Take advantage of the extensions to expiration dates described below. Wait a few more days if possible. Do not camp out overnight at an MVC agency or facility.
MVC's ticketing system is designed to manage demand at physical locations. An SMS messaging system and ticketing system allows customers to come to an MVC Center, receive a ticket, and leave the premises before returning to be served that very day. Customers can also visit the MVC website that tracks and identifies when MVC Centers have reached capacity. Customers should factor the capacity tracker into their plans for visiting the MVC and consider visiting locations that are not yet full.
All driver licenses, non-driver IDs, vehicle registrations, inspection stickers, and temporary tags that expired between March 13th and May 31 have been extended to September 30th.
Documents expiring between June 1st to August 31st have been extended to December 31st, and commercial Driver's Licenses and Commercial Learner's Permits which expired after March 1st have been extended to December 31st. All extensions are automatic.
In addition, the federal REAL ID requirement has been extended for another year, until October 2021.
NOTE: Even if your renewal notice says you have to renew in person, a new law now allows most people to renew online at mymvc.state.nj.us/license-renewal/ Customers can change their address, pay fees, and access other services online as well.
The validity of all driver's license and identification card photographs have been extended from a maximum of eight years to a maximum of 12 years. Residents 65 years of age or older are eligible to use a stored photograph for each standard driver's license or standard identification card renewal.
New residents of New Jersey have 120 days (up from 60 days) to obtain a New Jersey driver's license and to register a motor vehicle, if they become a resident during this public health emergency.
LICENSING AND VEHICLE CENTERS
As of November 2, appointments for new registrations are now available at all MVC Vehicle Centers. In addition, out-of-state transfers are by appointment only, and registration and license transfers can now be done in one visit. Make an appointment at NJMVC.gov.
Vehicle Centers will only process vehicle transactions:
- Registration/title transfers for private sales
- New registrations/titles, individual and in bulk.
- Salvage titles.
- License plate transactions.
- No renewals for unexpired registrations. Those can be done online at NJMVC.gov.
- No license transactions.
Note: As of November 2, the following MVC Vehicle Centers are by appointment only: Cherry Hill, Hazlet, Jersey City, Lakewood, Manahawkin, Medford, Somerville, Springfield, Turnersville, and Wallington. NO walk-in services are available.
Licensing Centers will only process license transactions:
- First-time licenses and permits (REAL ID will be an option).
- Out-of-state transfers.
- Expired CDLs, TVRs (temporary visa restricted licenses), and any other expired licenses not eligible for online renewal.
- REAL ID, only if you have a scheduled appointment, you have an email verifying your appointment was cancelled, or you are due for renewal of your standard license. No other REAL ID walk-ins will be allowed. The federal REAL ID requirement has been extended until October 2021.
- No renewals, replacements, or changes of address for unexpired licenses/IDs. Those can be done online at NJMVC.gov.
- No vehicle transactions: no registration or title work
WRITTEN DRIVER TESTS
Driver knowledge exams, also known as written driver tests, are available to all drivers, including commercial drivers, by appointment.
Appointments can be made up to thirty days in advance, at https://mymvc.state.nj.us/apps/schedule-knowledge-test-appointment.html. Demand will be high, so it may take time to secure an appointment.
All Licensing Centers except Oakland and Flemington will offer the tests.
Road tests re-started on June 29. If your appointment was schedule for before that date and canceled during the COVID-19 closure, you should have received a letter with a link to schedule your appointment at one of 11 new Road Test sites that are exclusively serving those who were canceled. If you should have received a letter and didn't, contact the MVC.
If you do not yet have an appointment, you can make one at NJMVC.gov.
NEW SAFETY PROTOCOLS FOR MVC OPERATIONS
To manage customer traffic inside MVC locations within safety protocols, customers will be unable to wait inside an MVC Center until they are contacted via the SMS notification system.
Customers and employees will be required to wear a face covering. If a customer cannot wear a face covering, MVC will make other arrangements for their transaction.