Search for COVID-19 and Reopening Information Here

Governor Murphy Highlights Aspects of Legislation Allowing for the Termination of the Public Health Emergency Effective as of July 4

Last Updated: 07/02/2021

TRENTON – Governor Phil Murphy today highlighted several aspects of legislation allowing for the termination of the Public Health Emergency effective as of July 4. On June 4, 2021, Governor Murphy signed A5820 enabling the end of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency that had been in place since March 9, 2020. Immediately following the signing of the legislation, Governor Murphy signed Executive Order No. 244 (2021), ending the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency. Under the legislation, the majority of executive orders issued that relied on the existence of the Public Health Emergency expire as of July 4, 2021, with exceptions specified in the legislation.

Because Executive Order No. 192 (2020) is not specified in the legislation as continuing beyond July 4, 2021, masking, social distancing, and other health and safety protocols originally set forth in Executive Order No. 192 (2020) will no longer be mandatory across businesses and facilities, regardless if they are open to the public or not. Though these protocols are no longer required by the State, employers and entities overseeing worksites and other facilities are permitted to craft more restrictive policies that require masking and social distancing, and which continue the implementation of health and safety protocols.

Per Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Order, masks are required on planes, buses, trains, and other forms of public transportation traveling into, within, or out of the United States and in U.S. transportation hubs such as airports and stations. Travelers are not required to wear a mask in outdoor areas of a conveyance. Masking requirements also remain in effect in certain state-regulated settings, including child care facilities, camps, long-term care facilities, other healthcare settings, homeless shelters, and prisons. These masking requirements, which are consistent with CDC guidance, are included in Executive Order No. 242 (2021), which remains in effect under Section 1(14) of P.L.2021, c.103.

The majority of State offices open to the public, including New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission locations, continue to require masking of staff and visitors. Individuals should review setting-specific requirements in advance of arrival.

Relevant agency directives and guidance documents can be found at the links below:

Child Care Centers: https://www.nj.gov/dcf/news/COVID_Licensed_Childcare_Guidance_052621.pdf

Summer camp: https://nj.gov/health/legal/covid19/2021%20Youth%20Camp%20Standards%206-9-21%20Final.pdf

Long-term care: https://www.state.nj.us/health/legal/covid19/8-20_ExecutiveDirectiveNo20-026_LTCResumption_of_Svcs.pdf and https://www.state.nj.us/health/legal/covid19/5-12-21_Memo_StandardsProtocolsVisitorsFacilityStaff.pdf

Adult Day Health Services Facilities: https://www.state.nj.us/health/legal/covid19/EDforAdultMedicalDayCare.pdf

Programs of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly: https://www.state.nj.us/health/legal/covid19/FINALEDPACE.pdf

Health Care Services in Office Practices: https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/COVID19/Documents/DCA-AO-2021-11%20Superseding%20Office-Based%20Healthcare%20AO.pdf

Homeless shelters: https://www.state.nj.us/health/cd/documents/topics/NCOV/COVID-19_shelter_protocols.pdf

New Jersey Department of Corrections facilities: https://njdoc.gov/pdf/OffenderPublications/210423_OutdoorVisitBinder.pdf

Division of Developmental Disabilities Guidance for Residential Providers: https://www.nj.gov/humanservices/ddd/documents/covid19-residential-visitation-guidance.pdf